The Rotary Club of Quezon City (RCQC) was formally established and its charter approved by Rotary International on April 28, 1960. The following officers and directors were then elected to serve for Rotary Year (RY) 1960-1961; Ceferino M. Picache, President; Conrado Alava, Vice President; Vivencio Villaluz, Secretary; Jose Zabarte, Treasurer; and Charles T. Mulvaney, Severo Santiago, and Benjamin Tamesis, Directors.

Originally, the territories of Quezon City, Pasay City, and Caloocan City were under the charte of Rotary Club of Manila. In accordance with the policy of Rotary International of organizing more clubs in other cities, the Rotary Club of Manila, under the presidency of Joaquin “Jack” Preysler, relinquished the territories of the cities of Quezon, Pasay and Caloocan for the purpose of organizing new Rotary clubs.

District governor’s special representative and Past Governor Marianito F. Lichauco took the cudgels in organizing RCQC and PG Lichauco successfully worked for the inclusion of Mandaluyong and Pasig as part of the then newly chartered club.

On June 29, 1960, no less than the President of the Republic of the Philippines, His Excellency Carlos P. Garcia was the guest of honor and speaker during the Charter Presentation Night of RCQC. Six past officers of Rotary International and 400 Rotarians & special guests graced the occasion. Past Governor Francisco “Ikong” Reyes formally presented the charter. Rotary Club of Manila President Ramon Ordovesa and the Past Governor Gil J. Puyat inducted the charter members and the members of the Board of Directors, respectively.

As the premier club in then District 380, RCQC successfully organized 17 daughter Rotary clubs, established links with 8 sister clubs in the county and five overseas sisters clubs in Japan, Switzerland, Thailand, Singapore, and Hong Kong. It has undertaken many service projects with great impact to the community and the rotary movement. Among its flagship projects are: Prevention of Childhood Blindness Project, Anti-Drug and Substance Abuse Project, Rotary Village Corps, Ampon Puso (Save-a-Heart) Project and Sinip Bulasi sa Eskwela Project.

It has produced four (4) very outstanding and most distinguished past governors from the illustrations rank of RCQC, namely PG Ceferino “Fering” Picache (1968-1969), PG Marcos “Mark” Herras (1972-1973), PG Jose Agaton “Tony” Sibal (1980-1981), and PG Ernesto “Boy” Manalac (1989-1990)

As the mother club in RI District 3780, RCQC remains a strong pillar in the world of Rotary.

Our Vision

As the mother club of RI District 3780, we are a source of inspiration for relevant service and dynamic fellowship – particularly, youth development and community building.